Time-Lapse Stars   1 comment

So I decided to try my hand at some time-lapse night photography during my time here, mainly because I’ve always wanted to, plus the view of the stars here are phenomenal (the whole no light pollution deal is really working for them). Here are my first attempts (admittedly a little weak, but I can only get better from here, right?).

I shot these with my 17-40 mm lens at f/4.0 and a 30 second shutter, with my ISO way up at 3200 and with no tripod, just a porch railing.

If I could do it again, I’d drop my ISO, set a longer shutter speed, and definitely, definitely find a tripod to use.  And I’d find a spot where there weren’t a bunch of astronomy kids hanging out (see below).

There was an astronomy class out doing some star-gazing while I was shooting, so I’ve got a lot of pictures of them walking around under the stars. They were also using these awful red flashlights that messed up so many of my frames when the beam would accidentally flash across the lens, leaving a red smear along the length of the image.

 

Posted June 3, 2011 by alysonwright in Uncategorized

One response to “Time-Lapse Stars

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there. Love this pic.
    May I please use this photo of yours?
    It will be for non-commercial purposes and credit/acknowledgement will be given.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

