Chasing Sunsets   Leave a comment

Let me just start out by saying that I am a sucker for sunsets: I like watching them, I like thinking about them, I like telling people about them, and I really really like taking pictures of them. And, for the past few days, as I’ve been leaving work, the sunsets have been absolutely gorgeous.

Unfortunately, around where I live, there are a lot of trees. So many trees that, if you can’t catch the sunset at exactly the right moment (which I can’t, seeing as I clock out around 5:30 p.m.) all you’ll see is the glimpse of a fiery orange sun dipping below the foliage-line. Sure, you still get to see the sky lit up in vibrant colors. And when there are clouds to reflect and refract the light, it’s even better.

Recently, I’ve had to settle for not quite catching the sun as it sinks (and, believe me, I’ve tried–the first picture I took after chasing the sun into the outskirts of town, past most of the trees), but I’m still happy with the sunless sunset pictures I’ve gotten this week. Here are my two favorites:

This first one actually has a funny story attached to it. I was driving home, admiring the sunset, when I noticed the barbed wire and the idea of framing the scene popped into my head. So I slammed on the brakes and pulled my car off the (mostly deserted) road, turned my hazards on, jumped out of my car, and ran across the road to the fence. I spent five or ten minutes shooting different angles and such. During that time, 4 or 5 different cars slowed or stopped as they drove past, peering out the window at the crazy girl in a bright purple coat with a camera out in a cow field in sub-thirty degree weather. I’m pretty sure at least one of them called the cops. So anyways, I finished shooting (the sunset was mostly gone at this point) and turned to run back across the road…and almost got hit by the pick-up that was barreling around a curve. Thankfully, they swerved out of the way. I’m not proud of it, but I did scream. And then I apologized and held my camera up, as if that gave me license to run across roads without looking, and waved it so they could see. The passenger shouted several obscenities at me as they drove off.

No fun stories really for this second picture. Still got funny looks (I was pulled off in an old church parking lot), but I’m starting to accept that as a part of everyday life now.

Posted January 9, 2011 by alysonwright in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

